Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend.

by Brian London

Hi everyone!

So sorry I’ve not posted in a while, my grandparents were in town, and I was spending a lot of quality time with them.

On a related note, why are museums closed on Mondays? Does anyone know where that came from? It was rather annoying to find that the Nelson-Atkins wasn’t open, I was looking forward to visiting it (well, I was also looking forward to visiting the Kansas City Zoo, but did you see the weather? Ewww. No thank you.)

Instead (because, yes, I know you care what I did), I solved eighty (80) crossword puzzles with my family — newsflash: I know nothing of pre-70’s pop culture — and played cards. Apparently, there is no known limit to how much one can play Rummy 500, nor the number of people who can play at once.

Speaking of events in Kansas City, apparently Pride weekend is this weekend (May 31 and June 1 2013). I honestly have never heard of it before today, but I’m seriously considering going. If I do, expect lots of pictures…maybe. We’ll see.

Before I sign off, I want to extend a very sincere gratitude for all servicemen and servicewomen (and every member of the Forces in between) the world over. Without you, our world would not be nearly as secure, or even as livable as it is today. Your continued service is a constant inspiration to me, both as a formal Counseling Officer of the ICRC and as a very proud private citizen. Should you ever need help from the likes of people like me, you have but to ask, and whatever I can do will be done. Be it talking, de-stressing, complaining/venting, counseling (or consoling, for that matter), help with home-side job searches, whatever it may be. There will always be support for you.

Finally, I ask you all to remember the tornado victims in the United States Midwest. Again, you can visit this link (http://www.redcross.org/charitable-donations), or see my previous post on the matter here.

I’ll leave you with a question again: Do you watch the American TV show, “The Voice” ? If so, who do you want to win the competition? Answer in the comments below.

Find peace where it exists, and make it where it does not, for only in peace can the love founded in troubled times flourish into the love that blooms throughout the world.

 

 

 

